Preaching in Belém – Part 1

I’m in Belém for a 10 day preaching trip. Belém is in the North of Brazil, at the mouth of the Amazon river. The locals joke here that there are two seasons: one where it rains every day and one where it rains all day! If you like it hot and humid – you’ll love Belém.

Last Thursday I taught my first workshop of the trip:  “Self-realization in Yoga.” I explained that progress in metaphysical yoga depends on dedicating oneself to the three-fold path of pious and clean living, study of transcendental knowledge, and devotion. About 40 people attended.  All my workshops are being held in the local Hare Krishna preaching center.

On Saturday I taught my second workshop: “Krishna’s Yamas and Niyamas “. It’s a very interesting set of 24 yamas and niyamas found in the Srimad Bhagavatam, taught by Krishna to Uddhava. I compared these with to the 10 yamas and niyamas made famous by Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra.

On Saturday I also lectured at the World Forum on Theology and Liberation. The Forum was dedicated to the environment, especially the issue of water. I took this cue to prepare a special lecture on the environmental impact of non-vegetarianism. Loaded with striking facts, the lecture caused a good stir in the mostly non-vegetarian audience!

After the lecture we chanted bhajans and sold books to the general crowd in the Forum’s open stage.

I’ve also been doing some tourism while here with my wife, which you can read about here.

You can see more pictures of these events here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Realizations on Krishna Consciousness

Leave a Reply

