Social Marketing and Sankirtan

Yesterday I experienced the power of social marketing. In 12 hours I sold 169 books online!

I’m currently about to print a new edition of my first book, “Ciência Espiritual – Uma Introdução à Sabedoria do Yoga” (only available in Portuguese, but the translated title is, “Spiritual Science – An Introduction to the Wisdom of Yoga”). I recently got an ISBN code for it, allowing me to sell it in bookstores, etc. I also had a new cover made, which I really liked (see below). But the problem was that I still had 165 volumes in stock, which would normally take months to sell, and I wanted to sell them before printing the new run.

Ciência Espiritual

So, I sent a message to my Pandavas Paradise email list (it only has 624 people on it, but it’s always growing), telling people about it and asking for their help. I asked for 15 people to buy 11 books each, for a discounted price, suggesting they could then give it away as they pleased.

I first thought I’d get maybe one or two people. To my surprise I got more than I needed within 12 hours!  The books are now completely sold out!

I think what made this campaign work is:

1) I don’t usually ask for things. I usually just give.
2) I explained the reason behind it, and it was a good one. I think people need a story to go with a plea. Just asking people to buy books because Prabhupada likes it, because they’ll be blessed by it or because other people will benefit is not enough.
3) I made it easy by not asking for anything too difficult and it was zero time consuming.

I’m now looking for ways to do this more, both with my books using our Pandavas Paradise list and also with BBT books using our Amigos de Krishna list (currently with 9000 members!).

Leave a comment

Filed under Preaching Tools

Leave a Reply

