Fortaleza Weekend Lectures

I was in Fortaleza from May 27 to 31 on a lecture tour. I taught a weekend Gita course in a yoga studio, presented a lecture to the local ISKCON devotees on the Citra Kavitvani, gave the Sunday Program class.

Fortaleza is an important city in the northeast of Brazil and one of the principal tourist destinations of the country. The beaches around Fortaleza are among the most beautiful in the world. This time, though, I didn’t get much of a chance to take advantage of this, taking only one quick trip to the beach the whole time I was there.

On Friday I had the opportunity to present a Portuguese version of a wonderful presentation created by the BBT Sanskrit School in Govardhana on the Citra Kavitvani – Rupa Goswami’s incredible poems, with mind-boggling formats and in the shape of images. I had first heard it during the GBC meetings this year and luckily got a copy of them. The devotees here loved it.

Over the weekend I inaugurated a special study of the Bhagavad-gita the local devotees are organizing for the public at large. They are planning a long series of workshops on the meaning and practical implications of the Gita. I presented a summary of the entire contents of the Gita in just over 7 hours, half of it on Saturday, half on Sunday morning. It was quite intense!

At the end of my visit I gave class at the Sunday Program, on conscious vs. unconscious desires and how they affect our spiritual progress.

Leave a comment

Filed under Realizations on Krishna Consciousness

Leave a Reply

